WSOP First 50 Honors Awards Announced

The surprises keep coming for the 50th anniversary of the World Series of Poker, with a special WSOP First 50 Honors Awards event.

The award show 50 years in the making, will hand out seven special awards and the winners will be chosen by poker fans.

Voting for the First 50 Honors opened earlier this week and runs until June 15. By voting, not only do poker fans get to make their choices known, they also get a shot at some great prizes.

From the pool of voters, the WSOP will randomly draw winners to receive paid seats in select WSOP bracelet events, tickets to the First Fifty Gala, and WSOP swag.

How does WSOP First 50 Honors Awards work?

The seven awards all include a select list for voters to choose from, or you can go your own way and write in your choice.

The list of awards that will be handed out includes:

  1. Most memorable WSOP TV hand
    2. Best overall WSOP performance (single year)
    3. Most likely to succeed (player currently under 35 to win the most WSOP bracelets between 2020-2070)
    4. Fan favorite player
    5. Favorite WSOP bad boy
    6. Most impressive main event win
    7. Four most important players in WSOP history.

Let’s take a closer look at the choices in a few categories, starting with the most memorable WSOP TV hand. A few of the WSOP’s selections include Chris Moneymaker’s memorable bluff of Sammy Farha in 2003; Scotty Nguyen’s final winning hand in 1998; and Jonathan Duhamel’s bad beat of Matt Affleck in 2010.

In the fan favorite category, it’s a tough choice between many of poker’s most memorable players. This includes Doyle Brunson, Antonio Esfandiari, Phil Hellmuth, Maria Ho, Phil Ivey and Daniel Negreanu.

Finally, the favorite WSOP bad boy is a choice of who you love most to hate. Not surprisingly Hellmuth shows up again, along with Jamie Gold, Will Kassouf, Mike Matusow, Shawn Sheikhan and David Ulliott.