Poker Hall of Fame Finalists are Announced

The latest group of players being considered for the Poker Hall of Fame was announced at the World Series of Poker earlier this week.

Online voting to select the short list of nominees for the honor began last month. From the voting 10 names were selected to enter the nomination process. Two will be chosen from the 10 and be inducted into the Poker Hall of Fame later this month.

The 10 are all well-known names in the poker world. Eight of them have made the list of 10 nominees before, while two are nominated for the first time.

The eight returnees include Huck Seed, Thor Hansen, Dave “Devilfish” Ulliot, Mike Matusow, David Chiu, Ted Forrest, Max Pescatori and Matt Savage.

Seed made his name in poker when he won the 1996 World Series of Poker Main Event. He has won four WSOP bracelets overall.

Hansen is affectionately known as the Godfather of Poker in his native Norway. The two-time WSOP bracelet winner has 46 WSOP cashes, which has earned him over $1.1 million.

Ulliott would enter the Hall posthumously, as he passed away in 2015. A WSOP bracelet winner and WPT champion, Ulliot reportedly won more than $6 million in cash games during his poker career.

Matusow, “The Mouth,” is a four-time WSOP bracelet winner and winner of the 2005 WSOP Tournament of Champions.

Chiu is a five-time WSOP bracelet winner and has won on the WPT. His live tournament earnings are reportedly over $8 million.

Forrest has six WSOP bracelets to his name and a WPT title. He has 31 WSOP cashes worth nearly $2 million and his live tournament winnings are in excess of $6.2 million.

Pescatori is a four-time WSOP bracelet winner. His 50 WSOP cashes have earned him over $2 million and his live tournament earnings are reportedly over $4 million.

Savage has had some success at the poker tables, but is more known for his work behind the scenes. He has acted as tournament director for numerous big events, including the WSOP, WPT and the Poker Dome Challenge. In 2001 he was one of the founding members of the Tournament Directors Association.

Ivey, Eskandani Nominated for the First Time

It was expected that Phil Ivey would be nominated this year in his first year of eligibility. The poker legend has 10 WSOP bracelets, a WPT title and over $24 million in live tournament winnings.

Eskandani has also made his name in poker away from the tables as a producer of many popular poker television shows. Included in that list are Poker After Dark, High Stakes Poker, and the National Heads-Up Poker Championship.